This isn't intended to be depressing although it is a bit distressing to me. 

I have a cataract forming in my right eye.  This is the eye with the lazy muscle. 

I was supposed to wear a patch every day when I was quite small to strengthen it - I think I was about six or so.  Suffice to say that I hated it because I couldn't see much when I had it on so I didn't use it enough.  Mom couldn't make me keep it on although she did her best.  All through high school I didn't wear my glasses all the time because I could see without them.  The same applies until I was in my late twenties and started having migraines.  Because I needed reactions lenses that go dark when needed, I started wearing my glasses regularly.  Okay, more often. 

Then in my forties I needed reading glasses as well as distance glasses. I got fed up with that lark soon enough.  Changing glasses in a supermarket to see the label then changing again to see to walk around  yadda yadda yadda.  I got bifocals.  Great things, bifocals.  I could see all the time with one pair of specs even if they did make me look old because of the D shape in the bottom of them. 

Until the time I needed middle distance as well as near and far.  This time it's varifocals.  I've never looked back and am happy with them.

A year or two ago I was told there was a cataract forming but it wasn't in the line of vision and would not be a problem.  I've had to have my prescription changed every year or so for the past few years at great expense.  Just ten months after my last change I was having blurred vision and headaches.  My first port of call was the opticians as I guessed that the doctor would suggest that anyway.  Sure enough, I could do with a new pair of glasses, and was told that I have a cataract affecting my vision.

She said it as if I knew about it and should have expected it.  I didn't.  It is too early to treat it so I am living with it as best I can.  I didn't get the new glasses since the sight will keep changing for the worse.

My hobbies are:  reading, cross stiitch and using the computer.  All need vision.  Reading and cross stitch are becoming a bit harder. Even reading this as I type can be more difficult when my eyes are tired and it goes a bit blurred.  I am using a bigger font to compensate.

I will try to use this blog to chart this new adventure in my life.



Leave a Reply.