Just on the off chance that the above heading didn't make it quite clear enough, I'm not a happy bunny right now.  Earlier this evening I saw some recent photos of myself sitting in my fave chair unaware that my photo was being taken.  I'm fat.  To make it more honest, I'm horribly fat.  I know how much I weigh, but have been kidding myself about how fat I look.  Yes, I'm saying fat as that is what it is. Why dress it up with any other word just because they sound nicer.  They look the same on my body whatever name you put on it. 

Now please know that I'm not being mean to myself.  I'm not beating myself up.  I'm not belittling myself.  That in itself is a great improvement.  But I am facing an unpleasant fact of my life.  I'm going to use those photos - which may just exaggerate the problem by the way I'm sitting - as a tool to help me get back on track in a positive way.

I know, as anyone who has a weight problem knows, what I need to do and how to do it.  I just have not wanted to do it or to really face it.  Like everyone else I can use the rose tinted spectacles and see what I want to see. I've been ignoring the fact that the scales say I'm heavier, my jeans are tighter, and moving is harder. 

At last I *think* I'm ready to face things and try to improve the situation gently and sensibly.  As my course starts tomorrow it's a good time to implement several changes at once.  I want to implement a new time management system here to be able to study and keep up with the housework and have a social life which has been getting more full.  So why not piggyback a  healthier lifestyle as part of this?  I have been doing some studying already and find that it is useful to take a break for a snack now and then.  I need to eat if I'm going to study effectively.

Up to now I haven't planned much, I just do as I feel like or do what needs to be done.  Now I am entering a new phase in my life.  We can all make changes whenever we choose, but as I am embarking on a major change anyway.........

My immediate goal for this week is to eat sensibly and healthily every time I make a food choice.  I will make a proper meal for myself and the family twice this week.  Then I will make a goal for the next week and the next one.   I am not putting a number on my weight loss goal.  I know where I'd like to be, and what dress size I'd like to be, but for now it is enough to eat and drink well and keep moving more.  Because I study upstairs and the kitchen is downstairs it follows that breaking for snacks/drinks means nore trips up and down.  And I have to go down to let the mutts out........

Here's a giggle for you.  Our lurcher, Jess, enjoyed the mug of coffee I left on the table this morning.  I heard an unusual sound so went to investigate.  It was her collar tag clinking on the mug.  She met me at the foot of the stairs licking her lips and wagging her tail  with 'that' look on her face.  She didn't like me moving the cup.  When I switched on the kettle to make myself another one she got all excited with a look like 'ooh, can I have one?'   No, she did not get another one!!!!




Leave a Reply.