I know I've let myself down by not writing this week but haven't had the concentration to do much at all, not even much stitching.  I've been asleep and awake at stupid hours - even for me - and have been quite ill.  Feels like a chest cold without the cold.  It isn't right yet, but how long will it take?  My energy levels are at my (swollen) ankles!!  I've had enough now and want to get back to normal.  But if this is the price I pay for such a good time with Agi that is fair enough. 

Back to the day with Agi:  Firstly, it showed me how much I have slowed down mentally.  It took far longer to read the underground maps for a start.  I was unable to read the maps on the tube walls to count how many stops.  Thank heaven Agi was so quick and clever and guided me around. I had an awful panicky moment when a load of girls, just a nice group of friends, crowded into the tube where I was sitting and I could not see around or over them to see where we were.  I was almost in tears of panic, but Agi gently told me we wanted the next stop. I've just realised that the cataract might be contributing to this lack of sight but whatever causes it the result is still pretty unpleasant and scary even. 

Alexandra Palace was massive and as much as I could see was lovely, with beautiful gardens.  I'd love to go back and have a good look around when it isn't so crowded.  But as you would expect with such a massive show it was heaving.  You moved with the flow and somehow managed to look at some stalls. There were more sewing machines than I've seen in one place and lots of knitting wool, fabric and all sorts of wonderful stuff.  I didn't buy anything other than a 3 month magazine subscription so I could get a Cath Kitston book which has a bit of fabric to make something.  I haven't even read it properly yet. I'm not too keen on the magazine but will give it a fair chance as it has all the Christmassy stuff in the issue I brought home.  I got five big spools of pink, purple, and mixed colour metallic threads just for giving my email address.  Fair exchange 'cos I have a delete button for email that I don't want and  a good spam filter!!

We shared food at lunch and I really enjoyed Agi's sandwich because it was so different to what I'm used to.  She seemed to enjoy my Tesco salad!  We wandered a but more then decided we'd had enough of the crush and headed off to Camden Market and Marine Ices.  I'll write about that another time.  I need coffee now and some breakfast.





Leave a Reply.