since I was last on here.  I'm really tired but just need to do a quick update on all the fun and games around here lately but probably in no sequence other than as I think of things.

On Friday my new cooker was supposed to be delivered, connected and the old one taken away.  "supposed to" is the kicker here.  The gas pipe to the thing was partway behind a cupboard - no no number one.  The extractor hood was too low and had to be removed asap - no no number two.  The trim at the bottom of the cupboards was too low and needed to be removed - no no number three.  Two and three were a five minute tops job with a screwdriver.  But number one needed a gas engineer.  Delivery guy said it was our gas supplier's job.  They said no, it's an engineers job.  You know the game by now.  Me in tears.  Andy asks a neighbour for a gas man reference and gets one.  He agrees to come on Saturday.  Fine.  Saturday am and the lovely man (guess what's next...) says that he can't connect the cooker until the extractor cover is removed but has a cuppa while Andy removes said bit of wood - with the man's screwdriver.  This man now does his thing with the copper pipe to make it all legal and goes away.  I'm happy and promptly help Andy do the wiring - remove wires form old cooker and attach to new one - and we are in business.  Replaced hood cover and now I have a working cooker that I am happy with.  BTW, we ordered online one that we'd chosen in the shop.  I didn't like the knobs but you can't have everything........we got a different cooker.....with knobs I prefer.  Who knew.  And I'm getting the money I paid for installation back as well as what I'd paid for them to take the old one away.  That more than pays the man who came out on Saturday.

It was out 28th anniversary on Saturday so we went for dinner on Thursday and had a lovely meal. It was nice because Andy wasn't too tired since he took a couple days holiday.  We like to go during the day rather than the evening and couldn't go Friday because of the pending delivery.  I don't do Saturdays!!!

Yesterday I had my routine eye screening at the hospital.  I'll get the results in a few weeks but don't expect any problems there.

Today we had the car serviced and MOT'd.  It failed because of the back rim that Andy bashed avoiding a cat a few months ago.  We knew he'd done it but left it as long as we could.  Nope, had to fork out another £70 for this one.  Costly bump, that.  But we had a pleasant day around the town.  It's Andy's one day a year to go into town!!!

Oh, while Andy had his couple days off, he received a letter from his company with the wrong final leaving date and wrong redundancy payment amount.  He spent time chasing that up, but was able to email another manager permission to act for him when he saw HR.  Andy then got an amended letter with the right date, wrong money again.  Again he chased it and now has a letter with both date and amount correct.  The sum involved was nearly a grand so it needed sorting out.

I'm okay.  I've been going to bed when the pain is bad rather than staying up.  I've stitched some on the purple angel but had a pig of a time with her hair.  In the end I just gave up and fudged it but it looks  great.  I'll adjust the backstitching to suit myself.  No one else should be able to spot the changes and I'd left it quite a few days.  I did it and frogged it several times.  Now that part is done and I'm doing the wings. Making progress though and like working on this one.  It's so much easier than the darn guinea pigs. (Anything has to beat the guinea pigs as they were soooo hard to do.)










Leave a Reply.