Oh what fun I had today!  My new walker and I went out alone for the first time.  As in not with another human.  First to the field with the dogs.  It was rough on the path that needs resurfacing but was about doable.  Then the field, that too was okay though I don't know how it would be wet.   Stevie was no problem but Jess saw another dog and wanted to go play.  I didn't want her to go play.  So she thought she'd bark.  I didn't want her to bark.  She's not bad but was too much of a handful today so I brought them both home.  The best thing is taking the dog supplies (poo bags etc) on the walker instead of carrying it over my shoulder.

Then I took myself down to the bus stop, on a bus, and around the centre.  It's like a mall for those who live with malls.  I walked up the ramp instead of using the escalators.  I did four lengths of the place plus around several shops and back down the ramp to get a lift home.  Well, if Andy is off work and going that way why get a bus?  All in all far more walking than I would have undertaken just using the stick.  And even with a bit of shopping (that went in the basket) I have no neck, shoulder or leg pain.  So the ankles hurt some but they would have anyway.

The whole expidition went better than I could have guessed.  I am nearly in tears because it feels like I have my freedom back.  I used to love walking - we have some nice walks here.  Over the past few years I've done less and less.  Now with the asthma and hay fever under control, as well as effective pain control, I really think my new tool will enable me to go more often and further.  I just have to be aware of rough ground and stuff like that.  It's light enough to lift up and down kerbs so I'm quite free. 

BTW, this is a blue three wheel walker that has a bag and basket, brakes, and is pretty commonly sold in shops that do mobility aids.  I call it a walker, they call it various things.  So I thought I wasn't old enough or disabled enough to need one.  That may be so, but my thinking is if it makes my life easier/more pleasant, then why not use it? 

Now I wonder if this will help shift that weight I've put back on lately.  Well, it can only help but any help is welcome.

 



Leave a Reply.