I have a new great granddaughter, Brenna.  She is in Saginaw, Michigan and I wish her and her mother well.

To start with the heating......on Weds am I noticed some water under the boiler again....not a lot but it shouldn't have been there.  I was off to London and didn't have time to mess about with it.  Can you see where I'm going with this one yet?  On Thursday I was too tired to have noticed if the ceiling had fallen in, but there was some water so I kept an eye on how much and when, and tried to work out where it had come from..... at bedtime I made a coffee and went to put sugar in it.  And found the sugar was floating in water.  A right soggy mess.  And the reason I hadn't seen much water.  Friday am I did find more water, quite a bit and rang the company who were here on Monday.  The man who answered said something like ' Hey wasn't I at your house to change a gasket on Monday?'  'Yes, and now I have a leak again.'  'But you can't have.  I fixed it.'  But there is definitely water coming from the boiler and it's on the countertop.'  He said he'd come out but I planned to be out so asked him to call late afternoon which he did.  He found the problem quickly and fixed it.  He said he'd come back if that hadn't worked and he didn't charge me for the visit.

Now for the happy stuff.  I went to London on Wednesday and had a fantastic day with my daughter.  We did all our fave Christmas things, Hamleys toy store, Oxford Street, Regent Street, Leicester Square, Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square.  It was all good.  Thank heaven for Starbucks where I could rest my very painful hips. It's so nice to be able to sit and not feel rushed.  I used my stick all day and was glad I had it.   At Covent Garden we saw the fully lit CocaCola lorry and that was a real treat.  Then Chel's former flatmate met us and took us for dinner before the pair of them saw me onto my train home.  She was spending a few days crashing at his flat so she could mooch around the city, going whereever she felt like.  She seems better for having had a break from work and the normal routines.

Today hubby and daughter decorated the tree.  I sat in a chair and watched as one of them got a bit tangled in the longest string of lights we own.  Her dad said to ask me for the trick as 'your mum in an expert with the lights.  She does it so easily.'  I snapped that being an expert comes from years of practice and I had to learn once.  AND that I only did it because no one else would.....  So they worked as a team and did a really lovely job of it. I don't mind admitting that it was nicer than I could have done it.   Then I did the rest of the stuff.  Andy can do his ceiling stuff tomorrow or whenever.  I'm not getting on a ladder to do it when he can stand on the floor and reach up to do it with ease.

I've been struggling to eat enough lately and really don't feel great most of the time.  It is hard to breathe and I tend to get back pain when I'm on my feet for long - I end up doubled over the worktop etc.  No idea what's wrong but we shall see how it goes.

Stevie still gets excited when I get a Satsuma to eat.  I shared one with Andy earlier and Stevie looked quite put out.  He did get a share though and then pulled the peel out of the bin before he remembered that he doesn't like it...:) 

Stevie 'buries' his bones in the house.  Yep, you read it right.  It's an effort to nose nudge a carpet to cover one. (Those hide knot things are what we call his bones.)  So he found an area rug that he could hide it under last night.  Late this morning he wasn't getting attention - when I'm buried in the Sunday papers he has no chance - so he 'dug' it out and had a good old chew!  Of course we were in fits of laughter at him.








Leave a Reply.