I had my annual diabetes check up with the regular nurse this afternoon and she did the blood pressure review as well.  The sugar, cholesterol and BP are all fine. I don't take any notice of the numbers so can't tell you what they are.  I just register if they are good, okay or worrying.  I don't need to go back for six months.   She advised me to make an appointment with the GP for an asthma review as it is getting worse againl

My weight was a bit up from my last visit.  I already knew that so was prepared to the chiding that didn't come!  Her scales agree with mine near enough, so I'll stick with mine.  I shouldn't weigh myself every day but it usually do.  I have a little notebook next to the scales that I used to jot the numbers in.  I've started writing it down again.  It's good for me to look back and see the changes.  Too bad I got rid of all the old pages a while back.

I don't like going to slimming clubs.  I know they are good and they all have a lot to offer.  I've even lost weight on some of them (and on others the only pounds I lost were the ones from my purse for the weekly meeting)!  No, the problem I have with them is that no matter which one it is, I become tooooo focused on the food.  It's like this:
I wake up hungry.  Like starving.  So I have the 'allowed' amount for breakfast.  Fair enough.  A while later I'm again really hungry.  But I'm now afraid to eat anything because if I use some allowance now I 'might' be even hungrier later and have eaten all I'm allowed for the day.  So I think -"Stuff it." and eat anyway and feel guilty.  Day after day after day after day.  And on those days when I don't feel hungry at all, I feel guilty that I haven't eaten 'what I should' to follow the plan.

But when I'm not going to a club but am trying to eat sensibly - which is what the goal of all of them is - I just try to make healthy choices and moderate portions.  If I'm really not hungry but know I need to eat, I'll have a handful of almonds or something nutritious.  And when I'm hungry I'll try to eat a balanced meal.  I try really hard to use good snacks and not get too hungry.  And remember to drink plenty of water.  And if I do it well enough, for long enough, it works.

Yes, this is all in my head.  I know that and that the program the slimming clubs use is a tool not a strait jacket.



Leave a Reply.