and maybe not!  I went several aggravating sessions with  the TalkTalk technical department yesterday and and gave up in tears of frustration .  Another long story.  It would help so much if you could understand the person you are speaking with - wish they'd use all UK call centres even thought it is hard to get staff and they have to pay them. 

And that damned theme song they use. In the end one man was kind enough to put me on mute so I didn't have to listen to it any longer when he put me on hold.  I did speak to customer services to see how long remains on my contract - six months.  But she did activate a free speed boost.  So something good did happen.

Rang again today and got a lovely Irish man who spoke clearly - great start.  He was 2nd line technical support.  Again he insisted that I plug the router into the main phone socket into the house.  This socket is behind a base unit in the kitchen. To get to it I have to remove a corner plinth, get flat on the floor and stretch to reach it.  And..it gets better.... wait for it....take the pc tower unit, monitor, mouse and keyboard down as well!!!!  Our pc is set up in a bedroom. The furthest from the stairs.  It's a big tower unit and I can't carry it that far.  But these men I spoke to over the past few days kept insisting it was the only way to diagnose the problem.  Wonderfully helpful indeed.  The last one did a line test - or so he said -  and that the line is fine and the problem is within the house.

Our solution:  bought a new wireless usb dongle (exactly like the old one) to see if that is the problem.  If the problem is sorted, fine.  If not, we will get a new phone extension cable and replace the existing one.  If that doesn't work we will scream...loudly.  Let's see what happens.

I was ill yesterday as well.  Wore my clear glasses to go out and forgot to change back to the reactions ones.  Big mistake, big migraine with all the associated problems.  Feel better this afternoon so went for a quick shop at the Currys and Comet.

I sincerely hope this saga is over and life can get bck to whate



Leave a Reply.