and I have done a few things and have a long list of things still to be done.  None important, none earth-shattering urgent, none even interesting.  Just tidying, putting clean laundry away, change the bed, and dye my hair.  But I am enjoying the sunny day through my windows and am very relaxed.  I'd like to do some more stitching later if I can see well enough.  I've been doing a few stitches here and there on the unicorn but not enough to take a photo of.  I am enjoying the feeling of accomplishment though.

I had a great chat with two internet friends on Skype over the weekend. That was very good for me, and made me feel more connected to the outside world. 

I was about to write that I 'need' to make myself get out more.  I  don not want to use the word 'need' and whenever I catch myself using it I mentally change it to 'I would like to' because I know I'll benefit from it but it will be something I choose to do rather than being an obligation to do.  The same with should, ought to, etc.  I have to do xxx sounds a lot more like work than I'd like to do xxx so I can feel good when it's done. The job still needs to be done no matter what words I use about it, my it really can make a difference to my mental state to choose softer words.  For far too long I've used hard/harsh words to myself and it is time for that to stop.  Flylady.net has a lot of useful information about being kind to ourselves. 

I would not like someone else to tell me that I need to do something or I have to do something.  They would definitely not like my retort.  But I allow myself to say awful things to me in unguarded moments although I am doing far, far better at catching those thoughts and changing them to kinder ones.  

Recently I have been discovering that I am a good person. I'm liking myself more and more and am also realising that the parts of me that I don't like are parts that are the most damaged.  As I recognise these areas, I am looking at them and understanding them.  I may or may not be able to 'fix' them but just recognising them is a big step forward.  After all, every part of me is contributing to my well being in some way.  There are parts that are there as protection whether they are now necessary or not.  When I become aware of these I have the choice as to whether they are still needed or whether they can be reprogrammed into thoughts that are more suited to today's situations.  After all, my life is so different to what is used to be when many of my thoughts and feelings were formed originally.  They may not be serving any useful purpose now and be holding me back from freedom.





Leave a Reply.