What a disaster Sunday was.  Chel and I watched all the back episodes of Casualty and Holby Saturday night/Sunday morning.  We went to bed at 6am.  Yep, six am.  So Sunday was a washout.  We both hung out laundry and started watching the men's final of Wimbledon.  I fell asleep just as they were starting the third set.  Woke up at about 5.30 feeling awful - I'd been scrunched-up on half the sofa.  Took ages to stretch out all the kinks!  But it was pleasant.  I'm just glad it wasn't nice enough to sit outside! 

My weight.  It's even higher than it's ever been and I really do not understand why.  I'm eating less and making better choices.  I am NOT letting it get me down but it is disappointing nonetheless.  I will try harder and look more closely at everything I do eat.  I know I need to move more.  Even when I cannot walk much I have been moving the rest of my body in the chair.  I'm seeing exercise differently now, as something I really want to do.  The more I do the better I like it.  I never thought I could feel this way and I love it.

I've also been taking better care of my skin and nails.  It is becoming something that I like to do.  I certainly like the results.  There is a lot of room for improvement but I'm contented with my progress so far. It feels good.

I had fun putting glue on a piece of fabric - in my stiching gallery.  Well, the coaster is okay but still a bit tacky to the touch. The hot cup stuck to it.  I have some varnish outdoors that I might use over the glue.  One of these days.  Not right now though.  And I do happen to have some felt that might be good on the back of it. (I may put this paragraph on my stitching blog).

Later, in the evening......

We had to go out for a while earlier so I didn't finish this post.  While we were out I thought about my weight problem.  First, I put new batteries in my scale on Saturday so I'm quite confident that the problem is not there (although when it added 6lbs to my normal weight I did panic. That's when I got new batteries..)  Then I thought about the past week or two.  Well, I have developed a habit of having a Magnum in the evening. And sometimes a frozen mini Mars bar as well.  Just the one, though.  Freezing mini Mars bars was a trick I picked up from a slimming club years ago. Sorry but I can't remember which one.  It takes a while to gnaw through a frozen bar and statisfies my sweet tooth.

Also, we had two fresh pineapples thanks to Chel's love of the fresh ones.  Guess who had to come up iwth ideas to use them before they went 'off'.  Yep.  So I made a pineapple upside down cake.  It was wonderful. No prizes for guessing that I ate my share - half of it.  Andy doesn't like pineapple.  There was still more fruit so we had gammon with pineapple then I used the last of it to make another cake.  That means brown sugar and butter/marg.  So a wonderful fruit becomes very very fattening and not too good for a diabetic.  But it did taste great.  I also ate quite a few packets of crisps during the two weeks.  And was unable to walk a lot of the time. 

I did say that I will try to be honest here. So I guess overall that I deserve to have gained weight.  I am proud to say that I've stopped having toast for the most part, just once in two weeks.  I love love love toast dripping with butter and cinnamon sugar. 

I rarely bake because my cakes taste wonderful but generally look like thick pancakes.  When I bake I cannot leave the finished cakes etc alone because they taste so good.  I am no good, yet, at leaving some for another day.  I guess my only way would be to freeze part of it as soon as it cools.

I signed up to Skype this morning.  A nice friend from Hungary suggested it.  I do know someone else who uses it so I went for it. It was easy to do and it worked.  I enjoyed hearing my friend's voice for the first time.  I'm using the microphone I got many years ago to use with instant messaging.  It wasn't too successful and I only used it to speak to my sister.  It will be nice if more of the family use it too.




Leave a Reply.