but when I finished - and I do mean finished - that stack of ironing, I did some of Chel's as a  gift for her just because I love her.  Then at 5pm I fell asleep in a chair for over two hours.  I felt sleepy all evening until I got to bed.  Then I needed to go turn off a light and use the loo.  Somehow I ended up at the computer doing some moderating and I find myself still here at gone midnight.  Ah well. It's been a nice day.  Andy in the garden and me in the house - mostly.
  
The Bird.     That cheeky little bugger has been strutting around the garden like he owns it lately.  And yes, he is still here, crapping all over 'his' favourite magnolia bush.  Dirty thing, wish he'd go away.  Rang the RSPB yesterday who said he has something wrong with him to still be here after all this time.  They said to ring the RSPCA or the vet.  The RSPCA weren't much help.  She said to give it another couple of weeks because he's a big breed and need longer to learn to fly and to ring back in two weeks if he's still here. (She also asked if she could contact me when they have fundraising promotions....any guesses what my reply was?  Yes, it was polite.) 

A few weeks ago the vet said I could bring him in.  Yep.  I'm going to catch him and take him to the vet.  Yep.  Piece of cake.  We don't have the net we borrowed and what would we take him in? A box.  Great idea.  Getting him in the box from the net....suddenly not such a great idea.  This is a wild bird with claws and beak..

Well here goes today's episode in this long running saga:  Get your giggles ready here....
Andy shouted to me from the garden to check out the bird wandering towards the kitchen door.  I shot out of the garden door to see bird looking in the kitchen as he strutted past the door.  He looked far too interested in the kitchen so I shouted and clapped my hands and charged down the side of the house towards him.  He then ran into the open garage door. This is the back door that we use all the time.  Brainwave time - if I could just open the big front door, he could go out onto the drive and be on his way with no fences to bother him.  I duly pulled the back door to as birdy raced to the front of the garage.  I passed him so I could open the front door and he sped along to the back one!  I'm not sure who was more panicky by this point.  I managed to open the front door from the inside then ran back behind him as he raced to the open door.  He then strutted out and up the drive like a king surverying his kingdom.  BANG.  I shut that door behind him before he could even think about coming back.  Andy was just shaking his head when I came out to tell him what I'd done.  This is when he told me that birdy had looked into the living room on his way past the door and Andy had thought he was coming in and that is why he shouted for me in the first place!

I went around looking for ways birdy boy could walk back in. Toghether Andy and I blocked them up.  We couldn't see little guy when we went out to check where he was but we could here him going up the alleyway a couple doors away - heading back home?  Parents were calling to him - it seems they found him in the alleyway.  Later we heard him behind the fence and also next door where he has gone before.  As soon as he was gone we took bets on how long before he was back on the magnolia.  We all got it wrong - he was not there when it got dark.  What's the betting he's there in the morning?  It's too much to hope that he's flown away for good.

As far as we are aware, he was in no danger at all in the neighbourhood.  I don't want him in the garden but we don't wish him harm either.  Just in case anyone wondered.   It will be interesting to see what tomorrow brings in this tale.  "The End." is a bit too much to hope for.




Leave a Reply.