After all the fuss and waiting Christmas is over and it's getting back to normal - ish.  Chel and Andy have the week off so it won't be back quite to normal yet, then Andy starts his new job.  But anyway, Christmas was brill.  Chel got me six bags of my fave crisps and wrapped them in various packages.  Boy, did I laugh.  Then I opened a pretty box.  Inside were eight packs of Big Red gum.  Again, what a laugh.  This young lady has the most fantastic sense of humour.  I loved it.  I also got some serious gifts that I love, including two CDs that have DVDs with them. 

I've been stitching a bookmark for Chel since she asked for one for Christmas.  It will be finished when it's finished.

The pc died yesterday so that is the third big thing to go.  I think it needs a  new graphics card.  I hope that's all it is but it's still about £100 or so with labour.  But still, it is only two years old so it shouldn't need to go in yet.  I also got a new wireless keyboard/mouse combo today in the sale for half price.  It's good to work with so far.  The old wired set was pretty ancient and I had to click several times to get the mouse to work.  Now all I need to do is get my fingers typing properly again.  Good tools do make any job go better.

Depression.....I saw the doctor last week, at last.  I saw the one who helped me so much with the asthma.  He was very kind and helpful again.  He gave me that same tablets I'd had before and said they'd take six weeks to work.  Fair enough.  He also said I could have more pain relief, and we settled on what I'm currently taking but three times a day every day instead of two and a third when I need it.  (But I have been forgetting the third one most of the time :(.  And I have some codeine to take as well for top up when I need it.  So far that has really helped a lot though I've only taken about two or three of them.  I did take one when I was shopping today and once it kicked in I was far better off.   I slept for most of two days after I saw him - probably because I was finally pain free for a while.  Whatever the reason, I'm really pleased.  Chronic pain is no joke.  I also got myself a RADAR key for the disabled toilets.  No more going up or down stairs for a wee in a pub/restaurant.  I thought you had to do more than just buy one!  It's a big bruiser of a think but that's okay.  I got mine at a disability shop but I don't know if other places do smaller ones.

My birthday.  Yes, I had one the other week when it was all snowy everywhere.  We went to Milton Keynes on the Saturday as planned. We would go see the decorations, do some shopping,  eat, then go to the ice hockey game.  When we were eating Chel looked on the internet and found the match was cancelled.  Half the shops were already shut and more were closing early so the staff could get home.  The trains and taxi's had quit due to the snow.  NO, we did not think to check before we set off even though we knew the other team was from Manchester and they had had 10 inches of snow!!!

So we decided to head home about 4.45 or so.  Once we got out of the car park - everyone and his brother was doing the same thing - we crawled along achieving two miles in two hours.  Why some stupid people think it's okay for them to block the entry to a roundabout I don't know.  Not everyone wanted to go where they were headed but they did hold everyone else up.  We finally got free and could go cross country so made it home after about three hours.  We did all stay happy and had a pleasant time together.  We were glad we had the new car radio though. 

On my actual birthday I did what I love most - read the Sunday papers with a cup or three of coffee and peace and quiet.  Just chilled all day as I was pretty tired.  But it was good.  I had a nice meal cooked for me as well.

I haven't been stitching much as I've not been able to concentrate for long and my vision has been pretty blurred at times.  Sometimes it's really clear and good, other days I struggle to read anything. The break from it has probably been a good thing. 

I hope that anyone kind enough to read this had a peaceful and happy Christmas or whatever you celebrate, if anything.  And if I don't write more before the New Year, may 2011 be the year your dreams come true.










Leave a Reply.