I'm really happy with my new cooker and have enjoyed using it to bake again.  Yummy stuff.  And some nice meals.

We settled down again and we rolling merrily along and then, and then, and then....I came downstairs Friday morning and went to put the kettle on.  Water all around the kettle.  First thought..."damn kettle's leaking already.  It's not that old."  Then lifted it and found that the base it sits on wasn't wet at all.  Ummm.  Look harder at the black/green mottled worktop and saw a lot of water.  Like it was all over the countertop and on the floor and just creeping into the hall.  Oh Joy.  I didn't notice it sooner because I always get slippers with the soles you can go outside in.  (I'm always nipping out to the bin or something and forget about footwear.  How often do I come back in with wet socks because my slippers are under my chair?)  So I look for the cause and find the 6 year old boiler leaking.  I was a tad upset so switched it all off and started calling repair people.   With the arctic weather that was an easy job.  Not one rang me back on Friday so on Saturday Andy picked one at random from the phone book. Well, he tried a few who didn't want the business.  They were too busy already.

He finally got a nice man who came out - callout fee £110 which would include one hour labour.  Ah well, he found we had a broken gasket.  He asked when it was serviced and I honestly admitted it was 18 months.  He said whoever did it never did it fully and that is why we had a problem now.  The type of gasket was changed in '06 and if they had done the job right there could not be the one on there that was etc etc. They are not used any more since then.  So he had to get the part and come back today.  He said he'd be here between 9 and 11 am.  Yep.  At 1.30 I phoned and he said between 4 and 6pm.  Rang at 8.30 pm and was told I was next on the list.  He rolled up with the part at 9pm.  His face when I said that he had promised to be here in the am.  Priceless.  Total bill.....£24.48 for parts, £220 for labour and with taxes it was a lot.  But we have heat.  It was okay since we have an electric water heater as well that we don't normally use.  And we have a gas fire in the lounge and a small electric one we can use if we need to.   We definitely needed to over the weekend.  It was cold.

And Chel and I were going to London on Saturday to make up for the market being cancelled due to weather.  On Friday evening I came down with a tummy bug - and how.  So Saturday was out of the question, and it was cold in here and  and and.  So as Chel is in London for a few days I might go join her for a few hours on Weds. I do love London at this time of year.













Leave a Reply.