Well, that is Christmas over for another year.  Okay today is Boxing Day but in this house it's just another day really.   Everyone is just chilling and happy.

We got up and shoved the turkey in the oven at about 8.30, then waited for it to be cooked.  We had a super dinner with all our favourite things - we each have things that are special to us but not the others - so it was good.  As ususally happens these days, my eyes were bigger than my belly and I left quite a lot.   It was about 9.30 last night before I felt like eating again, and I only had two chocolate liqueur cherries all day.  No other nibblies at all. 

One of my gifts was an alarm clock with big (read huge) numbers.  It's great.  I wake up in the night and have no idea what time it is.  There are two digital alarms in the room, one by side of the bed, but I can't read it without my glasses.  This new clock has a backlight so I can just pick it up in front of my face, press the light button, and see the time.  Yay.  It does what it says on the tin and makes life nicer for me.  I know my eyes will get fixed, but for now just knowing the time when I wake is great.  No more squinting my eyes to see if one or the other will focus on a clock!    Another gift was from Marks and Spencer, a light for the Kindle.  With that I can see the whole page without putting the lamp on.  Bingo.  The other one I had was only good for about half a page and was more bother than help.  All in all I'm one  lucky lady.   We chose not to exchange big expensive gifts this year for two reasons.  One was shortage of money to spend. The other was that no one wanted anything in particular.  We get what we want when we want/need it all year, so there isn't much to get each other anymore.  I had asked for an alarm clock rather than buy myself one so they'd have something to get me that I'd want. 

Andy drove us to Hitchin on Sunday so we could deliver some gifts to a wonderful friend.  She always has to wait until New Year when we visit her to open her pressies.  This year we not only got her some nice gifts that we knew she'd like, but were able to deliver them ahead of the big day.  That was great for all of us and it was good to see her and our other friend who lives next door to her.   It's wonderful for Andy and Chel to have the normal days off now after so many years of working when others are off.  I'm enjoying it and taking full advantage of it.

I still need to write an essay, and hope to do it in the next few days, if not later today but it isn't a problem.  Yet.

I hope to get on here and write again before the year is over, but if I don't then please accept my sincere wishes for a happy, healthy, contented

 



Leave a Reply.